# Bylaws of the Georgia Political Science Association

## Article I

The responsibilities of officers are as follows:

**Section 1.** The President shall preside at all meetings and shall serve as the chief executive officer of the Association. The President shall faithfully execute the policies of the Association and shall make emergency decisions when the membership is not in session, pending approval of the Board of Directors. In the event of the President's absence, resignation, or death, the duties of the office shall devolve upon the immediate past-President or, if declined, upon any member of the Association appointed by the Board of Directors. This person shall exercise all powers of the office and shall serve in an interim capacity until the next annual convention.

Section 2. The Vice President shall assist the President in fulfillment of his or her duties and make plans to succeed the President after a one-year term.

**Section 3.** The Treasurer shall be responsible for maintaining all finances and records of the Association. The Treasurer shall collect the annual dues and registration fees. These funds shall only be disbursed in a manner approved by the Board of Directors. A financial report shall be presented by the Treasurer at the annual convention and at the mid-year meeting of the Board of Directors.

**Section 4.** The Secretary shall be responsible for maintaining and distributing the minutes of all meetings to the membership and for maintaining and updating the Association's Constitution.

**Section 5.** The Director of Communications shall be responsible for maintaining and distributing information about the Association and facilitating communication among the members of the Association.

**Section 6.** The Immediate Past President shall chair the Nominating Committee which shall recommend a slate of candidates to fill vacancies on the Board of Directors. This committee shall be composed of three current members of the Association appointed by the immediate past-President.

Section 7. The Editor(s) of *Questions in Politics* shall be responsible for ensuring the effective management of the association's journal.

**Section 8.** The Development Coordinator shall be responsible for acting as the association's official fundraising liaison with textbook publishers and other relevant organizations.

**Section 9.** The Teaching and Learning Coordinator organizes and chairs both the Teaching and Learning panel(s) and the Teaching Awards Committee at the association's annual conference.

**Section 10.** The Program Chair of the annual convention shall issue a call for proposals to the members of the association. He or she shall organize panels, speakers, and poster sessions. He or she also will organize event logistics.

## Article II

The Association confers the following awards annually, based on the named criteria:

### Service Awards

The **Raymond Chambers Award** is presented for continued and dedicated service to the Georgia Political Science Association. Nominations are solicited in a call to the association membership and require a letter of support from a current GPSA member. The decision is made by an award committee of past presidents, chaired by the immediate past president.

The **Wells Award** is awarded each year to the outgoing immediate past president for completion of the executive rotation (vice-president, president, and immediate past president).

The **James T. LaPlant Award** recognizes exemplary student mentors at either the undergraduate or graduate level. The award provides recognition to a faculty member for outstanding service to students by sponsoring undergraduate student papers, student panels and/or co-authoring faculty/student collaborative papers. Nominations are solicited in a call to the association membership and require a letter of support from a current GPSA member. The decision is made by an award committee of past presidents, chaired by the immediate past president.

### Paper Awards

The **McBrayer Award** is awarded in years when a paper of outstanding scholarship within the discipline is presented in its entirety on the GPSA annual meeting program and subsequently recognized as such at the discretion of the Editorial Board and Editor(s) of *Questions in Politics*, the scholarly journal of the GPSA. Recipients are awarded \$300.

The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Award is given annually to the best paper presented on the SoTL panel. Nominations should be sent to the GPSA Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Coordinator who chairs the selection committee. The committee selects the best paper from those submitted each year. All papers must be formatted as an MS Word or PDF document file. The file then must be sent via email attachment to the SoTL Coordinator and the Program Chair. The winner(s) will be posted on the GPSA site each year. Recipients are awarded \$200.

The **Roger N. Pajari Award** is awarded annually to the best undergraduate paper presented by an undergraduate student as part of the Pajari Undergraduate Research Panel at the annual conference. Professors may nominate undergraduate students for inclusion on the panel or students may submit papers directly. Group papers are acceptable; however, faculty members may not be co-authors. Nominations should be sent to the GPSA Immediate Past President who chairs the selection committee. The awards committee selects the best paper from those submitted each year. All papers must be formatted as an MS Word or PDF document file. The file then must be sent via email attachment to the Immediate Past President and the Program Chair. The winner(s) will be posted on the GPSA site each year. Recipients are awarded \$100.

#### Article III

The Board of Directors may, if necessary, conduct a vote electronically at times other than the semiannual meetings. In these cases, the president may pose a question to the board, and the question must remain open for at least two full business days. The normal rules for quorums and passage thresholds will apply as if the vote were conducted during a meeting.

Adopted November 8, 2019.